top of page
preston&child new author photo credit deborah feingold (hi res)_edited_edited_edited.jpg


Douglas Preston:


Douglas Preston has published thirty-six books of both nonfiction and fiction, of which twenty-nine have been New York Times bestsellers. He is the co-author, with Lincoln Child, of the Pendergast series of thrillers. He writes about archaeology and anthropology for the New Yorker Magazine, and he worked as an editor at the American Museum of Natural History in New York and taught nonfiction writing at Princeton University. He currently serves as President of the Authors Guild, the nation’s oldest and largest association of authors and journalists.

Some highlights of Lincoln Child's life to date:

  • 1957 - born in Westport, Connecticut

  • 1963 - moved to Aberystwyth, Wales (try saying that quickly three times) for a stint in the U.K.

  • 1970 - voted most likely to be beat up in shop class

  • 1971 - discovered H. P. Lovecraft

  • 1971 - was sent a Led Zeppelin album as a Christmas present by a well-meaning grandmother, who clearly had never listened closely to the lyrics of "Whole Lotta Love" or "The Lemon Song." (Gradual decline into sensuality and decadence dates from this period.)

  • 1972 - tried reading War and Peace. Gave up after 400 pages.

  • 1973 - tried reading Gravity's Rainbow. Gave up after 300 pages.

  • 1974 - saw The Exorcist and was traumatized for approximately seven months

  • 1976 - decided to become a medical journalist. Began taking pre-med courses.

  • 1977 - dissected a cat. Gave up on idea of being a medical journalist.

  • 1977 - began writing very romantic, and very bad, poetry. Was persuaded to stop after about a year.

  • 1978 - was glimpsed in London,  a copy of Wordsworth's Lyrical Ballads under his arm, asking directions to Westminster Bridge.

  • 1979 - received Distinction in English Literature from Carleton College. Started working for a living.

  • 1982 - tried reading To the Lighthouse. (You can fill in the rest.)

  • 1984 - discovered Jack Daniel's

  • 1988 - first sowed the seeds of Relic with Douglas Preston

  • 1995 - Relic published by Tor Books

  • 1996 - film version of Relic went into production. Stopped working for a living.

  • 1999 - began Bleak House for the third time. (And finished it this go-round. Perhaps there's hope.)

  • 2003 - published his first solo novel, Utopia.

  • 2011 – became a #1 New York Times bestseller with the Pendergast novel, Cold Vengeance (finally!)

bottom of page